PATROLLING

Gadgets and Methods

PATROLLING

Postby kmussack » 22 Jul 2017 08:13

As a regular viewer of PJF's videos I saw that there was a shift in focus toward the tactical, specifically patrolling. So I dug out my copy of FM 7-8 Infantry Platoon And Squad I also pulled down my desk top copy of SH 21-76 Ranger Handbook (dtd. February 2011). I also dug out my old field copy but returned it to its place of honor in my vault.

Patrolling is an activity I have some experience with and am looking forward to hearing more about how to organize and train a group of folks (civilians) to conduct such a task.
“The modern world demands that we approve what it should not even dare ask us to tolerate.” Nicolas Gomez Davila
kmussack

Re: PATROLLING

Postby Joe » 23 Jul 2017 13:10

I treat it in an "SF manner" and just treat it like I am training Gs/guerrillas.
Get motivated people and start with the basics.
This is where you stand in the formation(s)
This is where you look
This is how we walk
This is what we do when we stop
Actions on contact
Individual and leadership responsibilities.

Supplementary training:
Orienteering
Rifle marksmanship - standing kneeling prone
Camouflage
Commo
Fitness

and on and on and on

Heck, we trained our Boy Scouts troop to be pretty good in the woods. They LOOKED like little Gs - boonie hats, drive on rag neckerchiefs, LBE with canteens and ammo pouches. Taught them how to make the "expedient ghillie suit" per "6 Ways in, 12 Ways out". Pilgrim52 was there - and helped :)
Joe
Viking Chieftain

Postby kmussack » 23 Jul 2017 13:59

Joe, do you have a METL (Mission Essential Task List) for civilians/ "Gs"?

How long do you estimate it will take to bring green civilians up to your standard?

My guess is that you'd focus on reconnaissance/security patrols and leave out the ambushes and raids. Yes?

I have no doubt given enough time and quality recruits you could stand up a reasonably good patrol.